Texas Tech University - My School of Architecture Texas Tech University - My School of Architecture

Texas Tech University


Lubbock, TX

Degrees Offered

Master of Architecture


The College of Architecture prepares professional architects, advances design practice, and promotes new architectural knowledge through diverse, creative, and interdisciplinary research and education. Recognizing the broad range of leading roles for architects today, the program nurtures a variety of skills and talents offering design specializations and innovative technology expertise to face the great challenges of our local, regional, global, and future environmental contexts.

The Residency Program is an individually structured, practice based, studio-learning experience. This program allows a student to replace one Topical Design Studio with an intense, 7-month professional experience under the direct tutelage of a mentor who is a licensed architect. It accepts, as its basic premise, the notion that professional practice engages intellectual issues that enhance the academic experience of the student.


Texas Tech University was created by legislative action in 1923 and has the distinction of being the largest comprehensive higher education institution in the western two-thirds of the state of Texas. The university is the major institution of higher education in a region larger than 46 of the nation’s 50 states and is the only campus in Texas that is home to a major university, law school and medical school.

By action of the Texas State Legislature, Texas Technological College formally became Texas Tech University on September 1, 1969. At that time the schools of Agricultural Sciences, Arts and Sciences, Business Administration, Education, Engineering and Home Economics also became known as “colleges.” Architecture became a college in 1986. Two colleges changed their names in 1993 to reflect the broadening fields each serves: the College of Agricultural Sciences became the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources and the College of Home Economics became the College of Human Sciences. The Honors College was established in 1998, and the College of Visual and Performing Arts opened in 2002. Mass Communications became a college in 2004 and was renamed the College of Media and Communication in 2012.